Six Cardinals to Compete at Short Course World Championships

first_imgDahlia is also competing in her second straight Short Course Worlds after scoring four relay golds and three individual silvers in the butterfly events in 2016. She will swim all three butterfly distances, where she is the American record holder in each. Dahlia will also compete in relays and currently owns two world records as a member of the United States’ 4×50 meter and 4×100 meter medley relays. Acosta has been a mainstay in the distance events for the El Salvador national team and is set to compete in his third Short Course World Championships. He will race the 200, 400 and 1500 meter free. Schedule of Events After securing a bronze medal in the 200 fly at the Pan Pacific Championships over the summer, Harting will compete in his first Short Course World Championships and will represent Team USA in the 200 meter fly. The meet will be swum in short course meters and will span over the course of six days with preliminaries taking place each morning and semi-finals and finals in the evening session. Prelims will begin at 9:30 a.m. CST (8:30 p.m. EST), while the finals sessions will take place at 7 p.m. CST (6 a.m. EST) with the exception of Dec. 16 which will begin at 6 p.m. CST (5 a.m. EST). Hangzhou is 13 hours ahead of United States eastern time. Louisville’s coaching staff will be well-represented in Hangzhou as Stephanie Juncker is serving as an assistant coach for the United States, while Kameron Chastain will lead El Salvador. Current Cardinal swimmers Zach Harting and Mallory Comerford will represent the United States alongside Louisville alumni Kelsi Dahlia, who has been elected as a team captain to lead the US squad. Marcelo Acosta (El Salvador), Carlos Claverie (Venezuela) and Grigory Tarasevich (Russia) will also be competing for their respective countries. Story Links ABOUT THE CARDINALS Comerford will swim in her second consecutive Short Course World Championships, where she earned two relay golds and one silver as a member of Team USA in 2016. She was named to this year’s team after a pair of strong performances at the Pan Pacific Championships and Phillips 66 National Championships this past summer and will compete in the 50, 100 and 200 meter freestyle as well as relays.center_img Broadcast Schedule  Print Friendly Version LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Six Cardinals are set to compete at the 14th FINA World Swimming Championships in Hangzhou, China at the Hangzhou Olympic and International Expo Center from Dec. 11-16. The top-16 swimmers in each event will move on to the semi-finals with the top-eight from the semifinals moving on to the finals. All events over 100 meters and relays will be swum as prelims and finals only. Rounding out the Cardinals is Tarasevich, who was a finalist in the 100-meter back in 2016. He will compete in the 200 meter back, as well as the medley relays for Russia. HOW TO WATCHThe Olympic Channel will provide live coverage of the finals sessions on Dec. 11-13 at 6 a.m. ET. The remaining finals sessions will be broadcast on a same day delay via the Olympic Channel. NBC Sports Network will also offer a taped broadcast of each finals session. Following a pair of semifinal appearances at the last Short Course Worlds in the 50 and 100 meter breast, Claverie will represent Venezuela in all three breaststroke distances, the 200 meter IM and relays.last_img